Your cart is empty

Van Morrison - Back On Top

Van Morrison: Back On Top (CD)

Van Morrison

Personnel: Van Morrison (vocals, acoustic guitar, harmonica); Mick Green (acoustic & electric guitars); Pee Wee... Read More »
Music Genre


Unavailable for purchase at this time

Add to Wishlist

Share it!

Bookmark & Share
Personnel: Van Morrison (vocals, acoustic guitar, harmonica); Mick Green (acoustic & electric guitars); Pee Wee Ellis (soprano, tenor & baritone saxophones, background vocals); Matt Holland (trumpet); Geraint Watkins (piano, Hammond B-3 organ); Fiachra Trench (piano); Ian Jennings (acoustic bass); Liam Bradley (drums, percussion, background vocals); Bobby Irwin (drums); Brian Kennedy (background vocals).
Recorded at The Wool Hall, Bath, England and Windmill Lane Studios, Dublin, Ireland.
After a few stylistic divergences wherein he tackled jazz standards and the Mose Allison songbook, Morrison returns to solid R&B/pop with BACK ON TOP. His first album for Virgin's blues imprint Pointblank finds him back on the track of albums like THE HEALING GAME, but is curiously (for an album on a blues label) devoid of blues tunes. The notable exception is the up-tempo blues shuffle "Come Down Geneva" that opens the album and finds Van musing about, among other things, the historical relevance of obscure rockabilly singer Vince Taylor.
Much of the rest of BACK ON TOP finds Morrison in a more pastoral, reflective mode, reveling in the natural wonders of the world around him without venturing into the spacey mysticism of his '80s albums. As is the case on several of Van's '90s albums, there's a song detailing the pitfalls of being a cog in the music business wheel; "New Biography" finds the notoriously private singer casting aspersions on the sources contacted for a book about his life. It wouldn't be classic Van if there weren't a little crankiness mixed in with the splendor.
Van Morrison
Label / Studio
Recording Environment
Media Content Format
Original year of release
Number of Discs
Year of release
Cast & Crew
Van Morrison (Music Performer)
Van Morrison (Producer)
Brian Masterson (Sound Engineer)
Walter Samuel (Sound Engineer)

Disc 1:

  1. Goin' Down Geneva
  2. Philosphers Stone
  3. In the Midnight
  4. Back On Top
  5. When the Leaves Come Falling Down
  6. High Summer
  7. Reminds Me of You
  8. New Biography
  9. Precious Time
  10. Golden Autumn Day
  11. Philosphers Stone - Previously Unreleased Bonus Track
  12. Valley of Tears - Previously Unreleased Bonus Track

For the latest in new releases, giveaways and online music!

See all »

Chaos Recommends

  • Boyhood Boyhood $19.95
  • SpongeBob Movie, The: Sponge Out of Water SpongeBob Movie, The: Sponge Out of Water $46.95
  • Inherent Vice Inherent Vice $29.95 is owned and operated by Elan Media Partners. Site design and brands copyright © 2012 Chaos Entertainment Pty Ltd.
Content and product information copyright © 2012 Elan Media Partners or its partners and affiliates. All rights reserved.